Music Mondays: Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood

One of my all-time favorite songs. And that’s saying a lot given my affinity for music.

Oh, Lord Please don’t let me be misunderstood. The trumpet and the Spanish guitar give it away as a Mexican tribute. I LOVE Mexican music and that flowing, yet quick Spanish guitar that sustains the rhythm of songs like:

“Cancion del Mariachi” by Antonio Banderas in the film “Desperado”. It’s extremely complex and hard to do. If you’ve ever even attempted to play the guitar, you know.

f you listen closely to the beginning of “Cancion del Mariachi” in Robert Rodriguez’s film “Desperado”, you;” notice an eery similarity to the beginning of  “Bang, Bang (My Baby Shot Me Down)” by Nancy Sinatra in the Quentin Tarantino film “Kill Bill, Vol. 1”. Not a coincidence at all, I think.

But anyway, back to my original post, I particularly love Nina Simone’s version of this song. And this, by John Legend:

Just some food for your soul. Bon appetit.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Music Mondays: Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood

  1. Sheena says:

    I LOVE that Nancy Sinatra song!

Leave a Reply

