Music Mondays: The Beatles Poetry in Music

I’m not a huge fan of The Beatles, especially their more pop sounding stuff and particularly not their acid-induced gibberish they produced and called music.

However, I can’t discount their contribution to music as a whole and there are certainly some gems within their hundreds of songs they recorded. I’m especially keen on their more poetic side.

And I’ll admit that even that aspect of their music is pretty extensive.

I’ve picked a few of my favorite Beatles songs to share with a more poetic feel.

First: Eleanor Rigby (Look At All the Lonely People)

And another beautiful lyric they created: While My Guitar Gently Weeps

Honestly, I never even cared for The Beatles until I watched the movie “Across the Universe”, a musical set entirely to Beatles music. I think some of the remakes of their songs outdid the originals, particularly While My Guitar Gently Weeps, sung in this version by Martin Luther McCoy and Jim Sturgess.

This version just has too much soul to not mention.

And while I’m at it, I have to throw in another favorite version of a favorite Beatles song of mine, again from the Across the Universe soundtrack. This version of Let it Be is so gospel-inspired it’s hard not to want to get up and clap and dance to it. It’s sung by Carol Woods and a young Timothy T. Mitch:

A little music for your soul. Enjoy.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Music Mondays: The Beatles Poetry in Music

  1. Sheena says:

    I love the Beatles. One of my favorites was “I’m Looking Through You” on Rubber Soul I know the lyrics are simple but that song resonates with me. “Love has a nasty habit of disappearing overnight” written from the perspective of someone being dumped…like how perfect is that statement? I think I love every song on this album the most, and people just don’t give it enough props.

    • They’ve definitely grown on me over the years. I still don’t like some of it.

      I always liked “Yesterday” as well. Simple, powerful. It’s not the most poetic song but it still conveys that lyrical sense.

      I’ll have to check out that album.

Leave a Reply

