Music Mondays: Tell Him

I know I kid a lot about Jesus. Truth be told, I found Him exactly 4 years and 5 months ago while going through the most emotionally traumatic experience in my life.

I had previously dealt with the death of my mother some 4 and half years prior to this incidence and the death of my grandmother (who was like a second mother to me) a mere year and a half before.

But it was my divorce that really put the nail in the coffin for me emotionally. I couldn’t handle it. I was a wreck. Included in the divorce was my son who would bear the brunt of any hurt and attacks my wife and I could sling at one another. And those arrows flung aplenty.

In the midst of it all, I was fortunate enough to have been introduced to people prior to that who would eventually change my life and my spiritual outlook as I knew it. They brought me closer to God than I ever thought possible.

I guess this is the point where I thank Miss Mary Lopez for being a true friend through it all. And this is the point where I thank Pastor Burgess and his wife and family for accepting me as Christ would have, despite my faults, despite my shortcomings, despite my sins.

It’s through them that I truly learned about the everlasting power and love in Christ. Had it not been for Him (and through Him, them), I wouldn’t be here today.

So it’s with all my heart and soul that I give to you, my Lord, everything I have. This song sums it all up:

It should be noted that this song was taken directly from the Bible in 1 Corinthians Chapter 13, commonly referred to as the “Love Chapter.”

The lyrics are as follows (with commentary and Biblical concordance):

Let me be patient, let me be kind
Make me unselfish without bein’ blind
Though I may suffer, I’ll envy it not
And endure what comes, ’cause He’s all that I got
[Love suffers long and is kind; love does not envy; love does not parade itself, is not puffed up; does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil; does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth; bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.]
and tell Him

Tell Him I need Him
Tell Him I love Him
And it’ll be alright

And tell Him
Tell Him I need Him
Tell Him I love Him
It’ll be alright

Now I may have faith, to make mountains fall
But if I lack love, then I am nothin’ at all
I can give away, everything I possess
[1 Corinthians 13:2-3: And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, but have not love, it profits me nothing.]
But I’m without love then I have no happiness
I know I’m imperfect and not without sin
[Love never fails. But whether there are prophecies, they will fail; whether there are tongues, they will cease; whether there is knowledge, it will vanish away. For we know in part and we prophesy in part. 10 But when that which is perfect has come, then that which is in part will be done away.]
But now that I’m older all childish things end
[11 When I was a child, I spoke as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child; but when I became a man, I put away childish things.]
and tell him

Tell Him I need Him
Tell Him I love Him
It’ll be alright

Tell Him
Tell Him I need Him
Tell Him I love Him
It’ll be alright

I’ll never be jealous
And I won’t be too proud
‘Cause love is not boastful
Ooh and love is not loud
[ a refrain of verses 4-5: Love suffers long and is kind; love does not envy; love does not parade itself, is not puffed up; does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil;]

Tell Him I need Him
Tell Him I love Him
Everything is gonna, is gonna be alright
Ooh, ooh, yeah yeah, oh yeah

Now I may have wisdom and knowledge on earth
But if I speak wrong, ooh, then what is it worth?
[1 Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I have become sounding brass or a clanking cymbal.]
See what we now know is nothing compared
To the love that was shown when our lives were spared
[Christ dying on the cross for our sins]
and tell Him

Tell Him I need Him
Tell Him I love Him
It’ll be alright

Tell Him
Tell Him I need Him
Tell Him I love Him
It’ll be alright

The chorus above and throughout the song can be viewed as an interpretation of how one would approach God with a heavy and humble heart: to admit that you need something is considered a weakness in modern society but it’s an affirmation (or confession, if you will) to God that we do, in fact, need Him. That through Him any and ALL things are possible. And when we admit this and give up our souls to Him for His will, we truly submit not only to the idea that God is in control, but give up our limited (and ultimately inconsequential) power to that of God’s infinite wisdom and power, but is, at once, our most vulnerable state as a human being to give up control to a source we can’t begin to conceive, much less realize (in a physical sense) and our most courageous for those very same reasons.

This song is the epitome of love in a very real and quantifiable/quantitative way. If ever a love song existed that was written and recorded for the sake of love unto itself, this one hit the nail on the head. A mature and consummate love that anyone, regardless of spiritual belief, can bookmark as an indicator of the most true and everlasting love applied in any definition (including the strict and overbearing Greek definitions of differing love). If anything, this song speaks about the universality of love.

Just a little food for your soul… in agape. Enjoy.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

