Prince

I wrote this a while ago. I’m posting it today in honor of his birthday coming up. This day, this moment, will forever be etched into the ledger of my memory bank. It’s my most cherished one. Happy birthday! I love you more than you may ever know.

You remind me of the first time
Our eyes met and how you looked
At me through big, brown, helpless
Windows as if you somehow knew.
You looked at me and only me
With that certain curiosity and innocence
That defines you. From that point on
There would never be another who
Could define me and inspire me
The way that you do. On that day
My world changed…

On that day I was no longer me
But you. As your delicate hand
Wrapped around my finger, the commotion
Subsided, leaving only the two of us
In a room full of faceless people.
On that day and every day after, your
Face was the only one that mattered,
Just the way it was meant to be.

-Casey Robbins

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

