Happy New Year… Whatever It Means

They say that however you bring in the new year is how you’ll live it. Poor, destitute, homeless, loveless, drunk and hungry. God I hope they’re wrong.

Well okay, I should be thankful that I’m not actually any of that (except drunk and I’m ok with that). I’m poor in monetary wealth but there’s nothing wanting in the spiritual side.

Destitute? I’m not even sure what it means.I know it’s synonymous with poor so I threw it in there. A quick google check confirms my suspicions: a vague definition that’s synonymous with poor. In which case, read above.

Homeless? Home is where the heart is. The only thing closer to home that I could feel right now is with my son. I miss my Prince more than anything.

Loveless? Hardly. It may not be the love we all seek but it’s a divine love nonetheless. Thanks to my sister, brother-in-law, niece and nephew and those very few close to me. You know who you are.

Drunk? I already said yes on that one and I’m fine with that (eat, drink, be merry… Jesus turning water into wine… I’m pretty sure he’s ok with it, too).

And hungry? You read my Foodie Fridays portion of the blog, right? I’ve never wanted in the area of hunger, save for a few short times in my life. I’m still alive. And I’m not angry at all about that.

I’m listening to Philip Glass right now. I’m relishing in the simplicity of his music and the complexity of the themes. There’s a certain peace I find in his music. Maybe this is what they‘re talking about when they say “bringing in the new year”.

I hope to bring in a new year filled with peace.  A new year filled with hope. And  a new year filled with as much or more prosperity than I saw last year.

Here’s to hoping Margo gets over her shyness and comes out, loud and proud. Here’s to hoping friends is more than just a catch-phrase. Here’s to friends, the ones who know when a hug is needed and a step back is necessary. Here’s to family. No, not the ones who share your blood, but the ones who have been there when the blood runs thin.

To faith, love and hope. The greatest of these is love.

Here’s to they that don’t know what the hell they‘re talking about.

Happy New Year 2012! To the best year of your life… so far!

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

